What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

World’s loveliest protest… February 2, 2008

Filed under: misc — himbly @ 12:40 pm

Nude models in Italy staged a clothed protest.

Antonella Migliorini, 42, told Italy’s La Stampa newspaper: “Our work is not recognised. We pose for eight hours a day and still the colleges treat us like teaching tools.

Definitely an underrated population. Could you imagine having to pose for hours on end? In the nude? In a cold studio? Stared at? We forget that today’s artistic models come from an esteemed tradition that has given us invaluable works of art.

She added that being a life model was a “tough, cold job” and that most models who were lucky enough to have a full-time job only made around €900 a month.

Yesterday, models who gathered at a ceremony inaugurating the academic year at La Sapienza, Rome’s leading university, kept their clothes on in protest.

About 30 protesters struck poses imitating famous art works, including Degas’s ballerinas and Rodin’s The Thinker, at the university entrance.

Wow. As far as protests go, can you imagine a prettier one? And, it just might work:

Nando Dalla Chiesa, an education ministry official, said he had agreed to meet the models and listen to their concerns.

 

4 Responses to “World’s loveliest protest…”

  1. D.Petito Says:

    When I was a college student, in the sixties (yes, long ago), I was earning
    some money as a (no nonsense) artist’s model in regular art academies and
    artists’ ateliers. It was rather a “found” but “looked for” job, but it
    solved very well the problems of a moneyless student as it required little
    skill, little involvement, and offering flexibility and the possibility of
    having always some money in the pocket. After all there must be somebody who
    does it, and I shouldn’t have been so bad for that job as I got somewhat
    popular, as I had a regular figure where one could see muscles definitions
    and skeleton, and thus easy to draw – let alone the fact I was a proper and
    reliable professional too. I was nicknamed and known as “the circumcised
    David” after the famous Michelangelo’s statue of David, as I was said to
    look like as it might have been the Michelangelo Model for that statue and,
    differently from the statue, I was circumcised. So I sort of made the rounds. A romantic & “glamurous” job because its involvement with art and beauty?
    Not at all!!!… it is very boring — but that is why one is paied for
    doing. I have come up to the conclusion that it is not a job you can carry
    on for long, or be regulated, and from which one day you can retires. You
    can do as long you are in demand and as long you can do it, and it is so
    even more these days, as today everybody can be a model once: competition is
    far fiercer. What I mostly liked of the job was the fact that it gave me the
    chance to move in the world of the arts and artists, where I could met very
    intriguing personalities and live interesting experiences. That is the real
    value of it, for what concerns me. Once i got graduated, left the job for a
    completely different career: all that remained of it are remebrances a few
    stories I wrote of those times. That is my experience in a nutshell. (a pic
    of me of those times showed at: http://www.namir.it/GIOCONDA/noto.htm )

  2. himbly Says:

    Wow! thanks for your story!

  3. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  4. Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! tpsaq and 5075dfwppygcnw and 874 : Thanks. We look forward to hearing from you again and for your opinions on the world of work.


Leave a Reply

