What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

my amazing body: part whatever November 15, 2007

Filed under: misc — himbly @ 1:51 am

I can’t find my previous posts on this topic and, frankly, it’s probably something you don’t want to read about so go run and get yourself some ice cream.

So…last year (once I find ’em, I’ll link ’em) I had about 4 really weird allergy attacks. They started off with what I will only describe as “two exits, no waiting” and progressed (while *ahem* preoccupied with other matters in the lavatory) into swollen, itchy eyes, slight restriction in breathing, but nothing alarming, and sneezing like I worked at a pepper factory. Oh…and hives…hives all over my body.

I get warm thinking of those days gone by.

Anyway…so this led me to stop eating at the student center on campus. 4 attacks, 4 different establishments = danger zone.

I’ve been ‘attack free’ since. Until last night.

I woke up feeling sick and, about an hour after waking up, noticed I was breaking out in hives and I started sneezing. A far far far more mild reaction than those in the past, but still…and this time I had eaten only food that I made all day.

Wait..I’m getting ahead of myself. All these attacks, unlike usual allergy attacks that have been instant, are delayed a few hours. It seems to me that it has to hit a certain part of my digestive system before it gains the power and the will to eff me up. I attribute all of these previous attacks to some sort of brush with nuts or nut oil (even though the vendors said ‘no’, there was ‘yes’ in their eyes).

Last night I felt like having a dinner of dip. Whatever, I’m single and an adult and if I want a dinner of dip, I’ll effing have a dinner of dip.

I made baba ghanoush (HA…I just about typed baby ghanoush) and feta/roast pepper dip. Mmmmm…munch munch munch.

there is/was absolutely nothing in either of those dips that I’ve not eaten a kagillion times before, so when I got the usual hives/sneezies while dealing with other pressing matters, I was surprised. Wtf?

It dawned on me today that when I bought the eggplant, they were located directly under a pile of chestnuts. Can it be?? Could I have taken a chestnut-fondled-then-transfered-by-christ-knows-how-many-hands eggplant home, cooked it and eaten enough baba ghanoush to make myself react?? Is it possible??

I’m completely stumped.

 

2 Responses to “my amazing body: part whatever”

  1. Rjak Says:

    Clearly there’s a REAL JERK cross contaminating the food at the grocery store. I think you should take a page from the Bush administration on solving this problem.

    Here’s what you do.

    Start shooting people whenever you go for groceries and hit the produce section. Once your allergic reactions have stopped, YOU KNOW YOU GOT THE GUY. Then face Washington and thank ’em!!

    Yet another reason to be flying a “W’04” sticker on your pickup truck’s back bumper three years after the election!!!

  2. himbly Says:

    I think it’s time to come home, Joey.


Leave a Reply

