What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

best music videos of all time October 30, 2007

Filed under: dorky,misc — himbly @ 12:27 am

A friend of mine recently challenged me to find my list of the best music videos of all time.

Well..when I say challenged me, I mean he mentioned it to me and I accepted bravely.

This is a work in progress…so I’m not going to post them here just yet (via youtube, that is). But I will construct my list here.

So far, off the top of my head (and not in any particular order):

Van Halen: Hot for Teacher

I know..I know…it’s so wrong. And that’s what makes it so right. There’s no way this video will ever be made again. And watching Diamond Dave with the “Siddown, Waldo” makes me laugh until I pee.

Beastie Boys: Intergalactic

My friend listed Sabotage…which I agree is a spectacular vid. I just happen to like Intergalactic more because of robots.

Oh! What about, then:

BS 2000: It Feels Like

Because, well, I have a crush on Ad Rock and it makes me smile when he does.

Of course, theres:

Fatboy Slim: Praise You

Jaw droppingly brilliant in its simplicity and sweetness.

Rufus Wainwright: April Fools

Because who doesn’t want to see Rufus cover his face in mock horror?

I’ve got an Erykah Badu toss up here:

Other Side of the Game

or

Love of My Life

I think that’s it for now. It’s way past my bedtime.

 

6 Responses to “best music videos of all time”

  1. You’re forgetting about Aphex Twin’s Windowlicker directed by Chris Cunningham!

  2. himbly Says:

    I am!

    you’re absolutely right.

  3. Rob Huck Says:

    I know they are a bland corporate rock act, but I always adored Aerosmith’s “Living on the Edge” video. Body painting, cutting edge CG, and Edward Furlong stealing a car and driving headlong into a parked car with nothing but a safety bag to protect him. If it was any other band, the production would be hailed as an art house hit.

    Also, for various reasons, NIN’s “Closer”, Pavement’s “Cut Your Hair”, Paul Simon’s “You Can Call Me Al”, Foo Fighter’s “Everlong”, and Primus’ “Wynona’s Big Brown Beaver”.

  4. Rob Huck Says:

    Oh yeah, and Johnny Cash’s “Hurt” and Beck’s “Girl” also do it for me.

  5. Rob Huck Says:

    How could I forget “Street Spirit”, “Karma Police”, “Paranoid Android” and virtually anything else done by Radiohead?

  6. himbly Says:

    funny…you actually named a bunch that my friend named as well.


Leave a Reply

