What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

Update on hilarious old scientist October 19, 2007

Filed under: misc — himbly @ 8:10 am

Looks like action was taken:

The Nobel Prize-winning DNA pioneer James Watson has been suspended by his research institution in the US.

That sounds about right. I mean, if you have a scientist working with your team and who so g-damn clearly has no understanding of current science…then what is he doing on your team?

Apparently, Watson has sort of retracted his earlier statement:

The scientist has since said that the way the words were presented did not reflect properly his position.

“I can certainly understand why people, reading those words, have reacted in the ways they have,” he said.

“To all those who have drawn the inference from my words that Africa, as a continent, is somehow genetically inferior, I can only apologise unreservedly.

“That is not what I meant. More importantly from my point of view, there is no scientific basis for such a belief.”

That’s not what you meant? Sure sounded like what you meant. This is the most obvious backpedaling it hurts to read. I don’t believe for a second that he woke up the other day and thought to himself, ‘ohhhh…no, I better explain what I actually meant’.

UPDATE:

PZ Myers at Pharyngula feels differently based upon free speech.

I certainly understand what he is saying and I would have asked him why it might have not been on the basis of bad science in the comments, but the poor man has got himself caught up trying to argue against very ignorant people. I understand where he’s at. I just wanted to have representation of this side of the coin.

 

3 Responses to “Update on hilarious old scientist”

  1. Wow, I’ve never been through such a virulent thread at Pharyngula. One thing I noticed in reading the comments is that no one mentions the abortion remark made by Dr. Watson… that he’s prochoice if a woman found out her fetus, by way of amniocentesis, is gonna be a gay! This is concluding that homosexuality is necessarily always genetic… WTF? A proposed button to hand out at prolife fundy rallies…:
    “Prochoice if it’s Gay”

    PZ Meyers also seems to support invading Iran.

    “We cannot afford to allow the Iranian theocracy to arm itself with nuclear weapons (something I entirely sympathize with)”

  2. http://scienceblogs.com/pharyngula/2007/10/ffrf_recap.php

    Here’s the link to that article with the above statement contained. sorry, I tried to html code it but failed miserably…

  3. himbly Says:

    thanks. Good to know. I mean, I do think they ought to have let Watson talk the other day, but if your scientist doesn’t know science…then that’s another story…


Leave a Reply

