What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

quirky is in the eye of the beholder July 31, 2007

Filed under: film — himbly @ 12:15 pm

I have this quirk.

If you know me in real life, the singular construction ‘this quirk’ in the sentence above is kinda funny.

When I am newly alone…or not so newly alone, maybe ‘oldly’ alone, too…I can’t go to sleep unless there’s something on. Like, lights or radio…but preferably tv. Since I’ve moved into my new place, I’ve slept twice in my bed forsaking the comfort of a brand new mattress and bedclothes to stretch out on the couch under an old scruffy blanket with my feet hanging off the end (or, if I’ve been forward thinking enough that night, I will have put a chair at the end so that my feet don’t dangle).

Anyway…so, because of this I’ve been buying cheap dvds at every block buster I’ve come across…mostly the $6 ones. Since today is payday, I bought myself a few vids: The Godfather II, Solondz’s Palindromes, Bright Young Things (Stephen Fry’s directing debut), and Rushmore.

Speaking of Jason Schwartzman…what exactly was wrong with I (heart) Huckabees? I really enjoyed it.

Smacking my lips on the way home, excited to start watching one of these new DVDs (watching = have it play in the background while I putter around and try to get some stuff done) I read the back of Rushmore. “The best American comedy since Annie Hall.” – Premier Magazine

So, Annie Hall is in the DVD player now. What? It’s been almost two weeks since I’ve watched it.

 

Leave a Reply

