What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

Nuttin’ goin’ on but the rent April 27, 2007

Filed under: misc — himbly @ 9:08 pm

We pay a ridiculously low rent for Calgary standards these days. Landlords are raising rent like crazy all around us, but our landlords seem to know that this place, well…it’s a shithole. The floors slope, the windows are drafty, the carpets are crap, the walls are paper thin, the floors are paper thin, the radiators above us occassionally leak through the ceiling, the radiators in the apartment bang and clang like rhythmless dwarves, it’s dusty, it’s loud (when the Flames win…so been fairly quiet lately..ha!)….etc etc etc. But…we pay about 300-400 less than anyone else I know with an apartment this size…and I’m a student. So.

I found this slipped under the door today:

We had more leaking into the restaurant [directly below our apartment]…..apparently it has been every day around 10am [when I usually take my shower since classes have ended]….tried to call and warn you but it was imperative we enter the apartment as I was worried about flooding [that’s fair].

….checked your toilet, sink, shower….none of them were the cause of the leaking….only thing we can think of….water is getting on your floor….please try to keep the floors dry after your showers in the morning…”

In other words: there’s holes in the floor so don’t get out of your shower when you’re wet (as I am not a splish splasher or a wish washer).

me2.jpg
This is me this morning a couple of hours before my 10am shower. This is the face of a woman who intends to flood a restaurant.

 

3 Responses to “Nuttin’ goin’ on but the rent”

  1. Mac Says:

    Wet and wild, himbly style? Bwhahaha!!

    I’ll have to come back and read more of your blog but right now, the sun is shining in Vancouver and I’m going to take my Siberian Husky for her walk!!

  2. himbly Says:

    hehehe…welcome Mac.

  3. Mac Says:

    Tuki (the husky) enjoyed her walk… She even got to chase a wabbit in the woods (always a doggy pleasure) but the wabbit escaped. I’m okay with that. I know it’s just doggie nature (and wabbit nature) but I prefer to let the wabbits live.

    I came back and moved my toys outside so I could sweep my garage. The Vette didn’t want to start but I whispered in her ear (and used booster cables) so she gave relented.

    Classics aren’t like today’s cars which are mostly soulless. They demand a bit more attention but it’s worth the trouble. Some days, when the demands gets excessive, I’m less amused but today was a good day. That being said, I noticed the brakes are a bit spongy. I’d better have a look before I take her out on the road or the Pook The Destroyer might get me.


Leave a Reply

