What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

What is it, anyway? April 15, 2007

Filed under: misc — himbly @ 6:37 pm

Can someone please answer this question for me?

What exactly ~is~ white culture?

I can think of a dozen European cultures, Candian culture…it’s not ~that~ distinct, but it’s there. American culture. But I don’t get this freak out over “losing our white culture”.

i’m not being politically correct or stubborn. I honestly don’t get it. White culture?

 

10 Responses to “What is it, anyway?”

  1. Jaŋari Says:

    I reckon it’s a term brought about by white people who’ve done such a good job of homogenising the planet that they find they have no discernible culture to be proud of, so they latch onto the most salient aspect of their identity “Hey, I’m white!” and call it their culture.
    I agree with your implication, the concept of culture specific to a particular skin-colour is unrealistic stupid.

  2. himbly Says:

    “I reckon it’s a term brought about by white people who’ve done such a good job of homogenising the planet that they find they have no discernible culture to be proud of…”

    Maybe that’s it. Half of my family is Polish, and although I know that ~we’re~ not too involved with our customs and traditions, we hold on to some (and I know that we’re not that involved because other Polish/Canadian families go whole hog). The other half is pretty Canadian and I figure that when we do stuff…those ~are~ our traditions. I’ve never felt deprived of a culture. Sure, I’ll see neat things in other cultures and think, ‘oh..that must be cool’ but I just thought that we’re living it. This is it. This is culture. Not sure how many bells and whistles anyone’s expecting.

  3. As ‘white culture’ does not exist, it is somewhat futile to debate the nature of this entity. The is no Platonic Form of ‘white culture’.

    Now, I did not dream this up. It comes from an utterance of an academic at York University. I will find the link, and the link to the place where I got the link.

    The meme underlying ‘white culture does not exist’ is the ‘all whites are racist; no non-whites are racist’ concept that lives in the compost that feeds the roots of political correctness.

  4. Try this:

    http://charlatan.ca/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=18515&Itemid=27

    The verbage in question (from the above quote):

    Although no white culture groups have tried to gain club status on campus, comments online have implied students might try to do so. But they would have a “very hard time” trying to prove a white culture exists, said Nora Loreto, RSU vice-president (education).

    She says many cultural groups exist for white students, including clubs for Italian and Polish students.

    “So do white students have a group and a place to organize, and do they have a chance to organize on campus? Yes,” said Loreto. “Is there such a thing as white culture or have we been approached to form a white culture club? No.”

    the academic Nora Loreto has a page at Ryerson:

    http://www.rsuonline.ca/index.php?section_id=169

    I should do a post on this.

  5. himbly Says:

    Fenris,

    I don’t think ‘white culture’ does exist. I don’t think it ever existed.

    Nor do I think that ‘all whites are racist’.

    Nor do I think that ‘no non-whites are racist’

    You can do your schtick if you want to, and over at M’ville I’m gonna ignore it. I’ve pretty much assumed that your rants over there are a ‘character’ and that you don’t actually believe most of what you say. Over here, though, I’m gonna believe you and I have to tell you that if you think, honestly, that there’s a white culture…well…I don’t know what to say to you.

  6. himbly Says:

    Fenris,

    I don’t really see your point. Why would there be a ‘white culture’ group in the first place. There is no ‘white culture’…there’s several European, there’s Canadian, there’s American, there’s Australian, there’s NZer…there’s no white culture.

    I have no idea why this is concerning you. There’s no disintegration of a ‘white culture’ because there is no ‘white culture’ to disintergrate.

  7. mark Says:

    “I’ve pretty much assumed that your rants over there are a ‘character’ and that you don’t actually believe most of what you say.”

    Blasphemer!

  8. Ian Scott Says:

    White culture = yogurt.

  9. himbly Says:

    hehehehehe

    what if the yogurt is flavoured, Ian?? What then??

  10. Ian Scott Says:

    Well, it’s obviously no longer pure white. It’s mixed! And for those that enjoy it, very tasty as well 🙂


Leave a Reply

