What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

I just had to end that last post there, but I’ve got a little more to say… April 15, 2007

Filed under: feminism — himbly @ 10:44 am

The post I just wrote lays out the background for what I”m going to say now.

I know to a lot of people it seems like the fight is over…that we’ve gained equality and now we can all go home. It’s not that way, though. Yes, women in North America have it far better than women in many other countries (most other countries) and the fight needs to continue for those women. But since when do you settle for less just because your neighbour has less than you do?

I understand the issues now are more nebulous than before, but that doesn’t mean that they’re frivolous. Women still need to bear the burden of having to prove themselves more and work harder.

So…having told the story I just did in the last post, I can understand why some people think that feminists are hairy bitch-hags with nothing better to do than trample modern society with no good cause. I just saw something interesting at this site and thought I’d reply here because the comments had been closed.

    Feminist: “I think it’s outrageous the way men can get away with having multiple sex partners [note from ST: not at the same time!], but when women do the same, they’re considered ‘loose’, and frowned upon.”

    Sister Toldjah: “So what are you saying? That you think it should be encouraged that men refrain from having multiple sex partners so the standard for men and women on that issue might one day be the same?”

    F: “No.”

    ST: “What do you mean, then?

    F: “What I mean is that I want to feel like I can have multiple sex partners, come in and talk about it at my work on Monday amongst the gals, and not have the guys nearby look at me like I’m loose.”

    ST: (perplexed) “So you’re saying you want the standards for women to be lowered?”

    F: (blinks) “Uhhm, well – no. I just want to be able to sleep with who I want, when I want, be able to talk about it, and be treated just like men are when they brag about it.”

    ST: “In other words, your answer to my prior question was ‘yes, I do want our standards lowered.’”

    F: (becoming agitated) “No, that is not what I’m saying. I just want the playing field leveled.”

    ST: “Yes, you’re saying you want it lowered to be on the same level we have for any male who is promiscuous.”

    F: (huffs) “You’re putting words in my mouth.”

    ST: (chuckling internally) “Nope – just following what you’re saying to its logical conclusion.”

    F: “How’s that?”

    ST: “By saying, in terms of sexual encounters, you want women to be treated in the same way men who have lots of casual sex are. Do you think that standard we hold for men on promiscuity is a high one or a low one?”

    F: (no answer)

    ST: “That’s what I thought. Instead of setting the standard higher for men, you want to lower it for women. Sorry, but if being ‘liberated’ equates to being able to go in to work on Monday to brag about how many sexual partners you had over the weekend, count me out.”

The problem with ST’s argument here is, well, who says that standards need to be lowered to have more than one sexual partner? This has nothing to do with standards, it has everything to do with owning one’s own sexuality and making one’s own choices, some of which will be mistakes, but certainly having more than one sexual partner is not ‘lowering your standards’ accross the board. So, no, she’s not following any argument to it’s logical conclusion, she is inserting her own biases and following them to their logical conclusion.

I also love that last line…assuming that’s what women are in it for. Feminism is a big facade just so we can all get laid more. It’s the same logic as those who say that suicide bombers are doing it so they can have 72 virgins.

 

6 Responses to “I just had to end that last post there, but I’ve got a little more to say…”

  1. Mark Says:

    S.T. is 100% right. Hence why you disagree with her.

    You. Logic.

    Oil. Water.

  2. himbly Says:

    Okay. Then explain it to me. Explain why sex = shame.

  3. mark Says:

    I don’t think she ever meant that “sex = shame.”

    For the record, I certainly have never believed that “sex=shame.” In fact, I seek out as much of as I can. (The sex, not the shame.) Unfortunately for you, you’re already taken.

  4. himbly Says:

    So, you’ve kept low standards? If you seek out as much as you can, according to ST, you’ve got low standards for yourself.

  5. mark Says:

    I think she means that

    1. men are generally more promiscuous than women (which tends to be true for evolutionary reasons),and

    2. if your goal is achieving “equality” by mimicking those who are promiscious (which is not the best trait to have, can be dangerous for your health and spiritual well-being) then you’d probably be lowering standards for yourself.

    I just think the line of reasoning justifying promiscuity (some people are pigs so it’s ok if we’re all pigs!) is so obviously stupid.

  6. himbly Says:

    Oh Mark. I’ve got a lot on my plate right now and I’m very tired, so my first response to you is, honestly, that your arguments are too stupid to reply to. However, I will go and do the stuff I need to do today and maybe, after a nap, I can work back through the beginning and try to explain in a way you’ll understand.


Leave a Reply

