What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

Why? Why?? April 4, 2007

Filed under: linguistics — himbly @ 12:21 pm

I understand underlying representations and surface forms. Of course I do, I study linguistics after all. I cut my teeth on X-bar theory and movement.

lfpf.jpg

So…that covers D-structure and S-structure. Actually, what’s the difference between S-structure and PF (Phonological form)? But…my main question is: what up with LF, yo?

So, LF (Logical form) is the semantic branch. I get that. Covert movement? Wtf? Why is there movement in LF? Specifically, why is there movement of reflexives to T in LF? Not sure this is heartily agreed upon, but what in minimalism is?

Any of you linguists got anything to help me out?

Love, Himbly…who thinks the idea of ‘motivation’ is cool, but thinks the rest of minimalism is a mess…

 

2 Responses to “Why? Why??”

  1. Jaŋari Says:

    I’d take that last sentiment and run with it.

  2. himbly Says:

    hehee…I effing plan to!

    I was describing covert movement of reflexives in LF today as ‘the last straw’. They can only push you so far before you snap.


Leave a Reply

