What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

Hoser, pogey, toque… April 3, 2007

Filed under: linguistics — himbly @ 7:41 pm

I just took part in a ‘canadianisms’ survey that someone from U of Vic was sending out to ling students across the country. I would like to state for the record that the ‘ooohh…they say toque in Canada’ part of linguistics has to be the most dull-as-dishwater aspect I can think of. Apologies to socio-lings who work with this sort of data…but it’s boring.

I only took part because you get e-harrassed with stupid ‘reminders’ if you don’t.

‘What is a HOSER?’

Bah.

What does that do for us, even? Hoser? Does anyone even use the word ‘hoser’ in a way that doesn’t reference Bob and Doug?

I’m busting my hump to try to understand binding and minimalism. And in the bigger picture, I”m trying to understand how children learn language and all the nuances that come with it, and somebody thinks it’s the neatest thing since sliced bread to figure out whether they say ‘couch’ or ‘chesterfield’ in this part of the country. Boo-ooring.

 

2 Responses to “Hoser, pogey, toque…”

  1. Ian Scott Says:

    About… god darn it.. I don’t really want to say for giving away my age.. heh.. but 25 years ago, “hoser” was a common term in my high school as something to insult someone else with.

    I’ve never really known where it came from or what it meant though.

    But I haven’t heard the term very much since high school.

  2. himbly Says:

    really? I honestly thought it was something made up for Bob and Doug.

    hehehe…25 years ago, hey pops? kidding.


Leave a Reply

