What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

Hey! Blazing Saddles is on… April 2, 2007

Filed under: misc — himbly @ 8:18 pm

I’m sitting here trying…tryingTRYING…to get on my way to start to read this stupid syntax paper. Okay, look. If you ever find yourself in need of a syntax term paper and you think to yourself, ‘hey…binding theory…I wonder how children acquire binding principles, and whether the ideas developed around that are applicable to minimalist theory’…stop and punch yourself in the gut. Hard. If the idea comes back, try your reproductive organs, girl or boy.

I am trying right now to make sense of two articles (Reuland (2001)) and (Hornstein (2006)) and I am tearing my hair out. It seems that all we’ve covered in our class has missed out on what both these papers talk about. And they’re not even doing acquisition. They’re doing binding in minimalism.

Christ!

Anyway…so…bf came in and turned on the tv for a sec and Blazing Saddles is on. So, that reminded me of a story. Once…oh, many years ago…I had an operation. Actually, on my nads…I had a cyst on my ovary (since we’re talking about nad pain earlier). I went to my mum’s house to recuperate for a couple of weeks…I had a big incision across my lower belly and it hurt like the dickens.

When I was at the point were I was able to get up and walk around slowly, I went to watch tv. Flipping through channels, I came across Blazing Saddles. I’d never seen that movie and always wanted to (I grew up watching Young Frankenstein) and so, with a pillow clutched across my stomach I watched. Until I laughed. I laughed until I felt as though I would break open the huge wound across my stomach. So, I would start to cry. So, I shut off the TV. Then I would feel better. Then I would turn on the TV. Then I would laugh. Then I would cry. Then I would turn off the TV.

Wash, rinse, repeat. And repeat. And repeat.

Two hours and this is how I watched the entire film.

So, in honour of Blazing Saddles and the late, great, Madaline Kahn:

 

Leave a Reply

