What am I doing with a blog?

Awww…heck. I dunno.

Hi Sad Goat…This is Helen from beautiful downtown Barnwell…. September 3, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — himbly @ 4:56 pm

I was listening to Richardson’s Roundup this afternoon…well…The Roundup (enjoy your new pursuit, Mr. Richardson). They kept mentioning ‘The Proust Questionaire’. So, I looked it up. Evidently, Marcel Proust (July 1871 – November 1922) was asked to fill out a questionaire at two points of his life…once when he was 13 and attending the birthday party of Antoinette Felix-Faure (which went as follows):

**************

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

– To be separated from Mama

Where would you like to live?

– In the country of the Ideal, or, rather, of my ideal

What is your idea of earthly happiness?

– To live in contact with those I love, with the beauties of nature, with a quantity of books and music, and to have, within easy distance, a French theater

To what faults do you feel most indulgent?

– To a life deprived of the works of genius

Who are your favorite heroes of fiction?

– Those of romance and poetry, those who are the expression of an ideal rather than an imitation of the real

Who are your favorite characters in history?

– A mixture of Socrates, Pericles, Mahomet, Pliny the Younger and Augustin Thierry

Who are your favorite heroines in real life?

– A woman of genius leading an ordinary life

Who are your favorite heroines of fiction?

– Those who are more than women without ceasing to be womanly; everything that is tender, poetic, pure and in every way beautiful

Your favorite painter?

– Meissonier

Your favorite musician?

– Mozart

The quality you most admire in a man?

– Intelligence, moral sense

The quality you most admire in a woman?

– Gentleness, naturalness, intelligence

Your favorite virtue?

– All virtues that are not limited to a sect: the universal virtues

Your favorite occupation?

– Reading, dreaming, and writing verse

Who would you have liked to be?

– Since the question does not arise, I prefer not to answer it. All the same, I should very much have liked to be Pliny the Younger.

*****************

“A woman of genius leading an ordinary life”

Shit damn…he would have ~loved~ me….hehehehehe

Seriously, though….did ~all~ educated thirteen year olds of that era answer questions like that? I mean…hell. Okay, I’m sure not ~all~ of them did, but I’m 31 and have answered dozens of questionaires in my lifetime. I’m not fantastically educated or anything…but I have a difficult time when asked what my favourite food is. Anyway….seven years later, our hero is at another social event and asked to fill out a similar questionaire:

*************************

Your most marked characteristic?

– A craving to be loved, or, to be more precise, to be caressed and spoiled rather than to be admired

The quality you most like in a man?

– Feminine charm

The quality you most like in a woman?

– A man’s virtues, and frankness in friendship

What do you most value in your friends?

– Tenderness – provided they possess a physical charm which makes their tenderness worth having

What is your principle defect?

– Lack of understanding; weakness of will

What is your favorite occupation?

– Loving

What is your dream of happiness?

– Not, I fear, a very elevated one. I really haven’t the courage to say what it is, and if I did I should probably destroy it by the mere fact of putting it into words.

What to your mind would be the greatest of misfortunes?

– Never to have known my mother or my grandmother

What would you like to be?

– Myself – as those whom I admire would like me to be

In what country would you like to live?

– One where certain things that I want would be realized – and where feelings of tenderness would always be reciprocated.

What is your favorite color?

– Beauty lies not in colors but in thier harmony

What is your favorite flower?

– Hers – but apart from that, all

What is your favorite bird?

– The swallow

Who are your favorite prose writers?

– At the moment, Anatole France and Pierre Loti

Who are your favoite poets?

– Baudelaire and Alfred de Vigny

Who is your favorite hero of fiction?

– Hamlet

Who are your favorite heroines of fiction?

– Phedre (crossed out) Berenice

Who are your favorite composers?

– Beethoven, Wagner, Shuhmann

Who are your favorite painters?

– Leonardo da Vinci, Rembrandt

Who are your heroes in real life?

– Monsieur Darlu, Monsieur Boutroux (professors)

Who are your favorite heroines of history?

– Cleopatra

What are your favorite names?

– I only have one at a time

What is it you most dislike?

– My own worst qualities

What historical figures do you most despise?

– I am not sufficiently educated to say

What event in military history do you most admire?

– My own enlistment as a volunteer!

What reform do you most admire?

– (no response)

What natural gift would you most like to possess?

– Will power and irresistible charm

How would you like to die?

– A better man than I am, and much beloved

What is your present state of mind?

– Annoyance at having to think about myself in order to answer these questions

To what faults do you feel most indulgent?

– Those that I understand

What is your motto?

– I prefer not to say, for fear it might bring me bad luck.

********************

I think I ought to start reading Proust…

(though…he did like Wagner…hmm)

 

Weird…I am ~so~ shy.

Filed under: Uncategorized — himbly @ 2:47 pm

I am completely uncomfortable with posting. Hopefully, this will melt away and I can rant freely and with abandon….but at the moment, I’m stuck. Not sure what to say or how to say it when i do.

*tap tap tap*

uh…yeah.

So…I suppose one just jumps in and hopes for the best.

But…then again, I could congratulate myself for going this far and try again later.

Think I’ll do that.

Atta girl. Now go lay down.